Romblon bags 14 awards in Reg'l Schools Presscon

Four campus paper advisers elected as Reg'l officers


Romblon delegation grabbed 14 awards in the recently held MIMAROPA Regional Schools Press Conference at Jose J. Leido Jr. Memorial National High School, Calapan City, Jan. 12-14.

The 14 awards are as follows:

Elementary (Filipino)

                7th Place- Feature Writing, Christine Jan Roda, OSCES (Odiongan);

               4th Place- News Writing, Genil Francis Rose Estaniol, OSCES

                               ( Odiongan);

                7th Place -Copy reading, Mary An-Be, Tan-agan ES (San Andres);

                3rd Place - Best Anchor/Reporter,Gerry Gwaine Gelindon, LCES    


                3rd Place - Radio Broadcasting, LCES (Looc);

                2nd Place - Scriptwriting, Alda May C. Dalisay, LCES (Looc);

               5th Place - Feature Page Design, Ang Sentro (Guinhayaan ES Looc);

Elementary (English)

                4th Place - Newswriting, Jezrel Gaa, LCES (Looc);

                7th Place - Feature Writing, Ma. Floresa Torres, OSCES


Secondary (Filipino)

                4th Place - Editorial Cartooning, Myco Mindoro, RNHS (Romblon);

                7th Place - Pagsulat ng Lathalain, Christine Estrella, RNHS


Secondary (English)

                3rd Place- Editorial Writing, Paul Vincent Fodra, RNHS (Odiongan);

                7th Place - Feature Writing, Jerald David, Sta.Maria NHS: and

                6th Place- Editorial Cartooning, Arjiel o Maduro, RNHS (Romblon).


Only Fodra qualified as MIMAROPA's contestant in the forthcoming National Schools Press Conference to be held in Davao City next month.

However, these awards didn't cause Romblon to outshine the other divisions in MIMAROPA. It has maintained its place, 7th Place among the seven divisions that participated in the said Presscon.

                In the group contests, unfortunately, the broadsheet paper of The Diorite (Banton NHS), The Campus Eye (Sta.Maria NHS) and The Marble (RNHS-Romblon) didn't make it to the judging because of not beating the deadline in spite of Mr. Alberto Perez' (Division Supervisor- English) request to the regional office.

                On the other hand, four school advisers were elected as officers of the Regional Teacher Adviser Association.

                The four Romblomanon campus paper advisers were the following:

                                Jaynes F. Flores (BNHS-Banton) P.I.O (Secondary);

                                Arlene S. Guro Vice President (Elementary);

                                Joebe F. Fabello P.I.O. (Elementary); and

                                Oliver R. Galindez BOD member (Elementary).